Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
Roast! - Jimmy Silva, Jaunt Coffee Roasters
0:00
-35:56

Roast! - Jimmy Silva, Jaunt Coffee Roasters

The Call to Coffee.

Definition of “jaunt” via Merriam-Webster Dictionary:

1: a usually short journey or excursion undertaken especially for pleasure.
Example: A weekend jaunt to the coast.

A trip to Jaunt Coffee Roasters really is a short journey for pleasure. Tucked into the back of a Makers Market, in the back of an industrial park, it takes a little effort to get there. Even when I parked in front of the L-shaped building I couldn’t see the shop, only the sign letting me know Jaunt was up ahead to the left.

When I turned the corner I was surprised to see a dozen or more coffee drinkers set up outside under a tent working on computers or chatting in front of the open air roastery. I was surprised, because in the age of instant gratification all of these customers decided to go out of their way to visit this particular roastery. I took it as a good sign.

This week, Jimmy Silva, the Founder & Head Roaster of Jaunt Coffee Roasters joins the podcast for the 1st episode of season 3. I was a little rusty with my interviewing skills, and of course the tech was wonky, but Jimmy was an entertaining guest with a great story. He had worked really hard to pursue a career in marketing, and when he finally reached the summit, his goal in sight, coffee forced a detour.

On the show he is incredibly forthright and sincere, and coincidentally (or MAYBE NOT!) right after we chatted two of his coffees received huge scores from Coffee Review, including a 95 for his single origin Ethiopia roast.

Follow @jauntcoffeeroasters on Instagram for photos, updates & the Jaunt story.

On the show we talk a little bit about the trust we put in the businesses we support, and by extension other human beings. The past few years have been so stressful, so aggressive politically, and societally, that it can sometimes feel like that connecting thread between all humans, that trust we have in each other, has been continually under attack. I’m not say that it isn’t, but I don’t think it is broken either. I see that when I pick up a coffee, when I talk to guests on this show, when I experience the support this show receives.

I’ve been really socially distant during the pandemic. I still am more than most others I know, but I’m looking forward to a future in which travel and connection is easier. I don’t know if it will help repair some of the frayed edges on that human trust thread, but I’m going to put this on the record, if a Jaunt Coffee Roasters satellite cafe opens in Portugal, I’m committing to going and for being an ambassador for coffee. I always return from travels with a more nuanced viewpoint of the world, and a willingness to engage.

There is a lot more to learn about the Jaunt story on the show. I hope you enjoy the pod.

NOTES FROM THE SHOW

  • As mentioned on the show, I’m huge fan of Yasukochi Farms. This is not a paid endorsement. I just think their farm boxes are the best deal for the best fresh local fruit and vegetables. We order online, and a huge box shows up with more than enough for our 2-person household. We always share with the neighbors. If you’re in the San Diego area, check them out: Online store or on Instagram.

  • The Miralani Makers District looked pretty cool. They have 14 places to satiate your desire for food, coffee, beer, wine, sake and mead.

  • It’s good to be back. Tip your baristas. Drink good coffee.

COFFEE VOCAB

SUPPORT ROAST! WEST COAST

This show is always free, but if you have been enjoying the Roast! West Coast coffee content consider an upgrade to the paid subscription. It’s a great way to support the creation of this show. Think of it like a magazine subscription. A subscription at $24 annually is just $2/month, and less than 40-cents an episode to show your support for this podcast and newsletter.

Get 30% off for 1 year

As paid subscriber you’re supporting a small business, local writer and the creators of this coffee content. Every subscription is appreciated.

BE COOL. DRINK GREAT COFFEE.

Follow @Marea.Coffee on Instagram! That’s where these photos are from. #AdventureCoffee

I can’t thank my Roast! Industry Legacy Partners enough. They support the show, and inspire my passion for coffee. The Roast! Industry Partners are amazing! Click these links. Drink their coffees (and whiskey).

Zumbar Coffee & Tea • First Light Coffee Whiskey • Leap Coffee • Steady State Roasting • CAFÉ LaTERRE • Mostra Coffee • Cape Horn Coffee Importers • Marea Coffee • Coffee Cycle • Frinj CoffeeCamp Coffee Company


QUOTES IN CLOSING

“The powers of a man's mind are directly proportioned to the quantity of coffee he drinks.”
Sir James Mackintosh

Listen to the show on these platforms!

APPLE PODCASTS • SPOTIFY • ANCHOR.FM • GOOGLE PODCASTS • AMAZON MUSIC • THE COAST NEWS
TUNEIN RADIO • I HEART RADIO • POCKETCASTS • BREAKER • RADIO PUBLIC • OVERCAST • YOUTUBE • STITCHER

0 Comments
Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
The Original Show! The Roast! West Coast podcast introduces you to the premier coffee roasters, coffee experts and coffee innovators on the West Coast. Author, entrepreneur, and host Ryan Woldt interviews guests to bring you their origin stories, thoughts on the community of coffee, and coffee education.