Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
Roast! West Coast Classics Volume 5
0:00
-11:10

Roast! West Coast Classics Volume 5

The Origin Story

R!WC is on a quasi-holiday until Season 4 drops in February, so we’re looking back to the first Coffee Smarter episode of Season 2 where we learned about coffee’s origin story. During this Classics episode, Chris mentions that the coffee tree or bush can get quite tall. “Way taller than you are,” he says. To provide context for those that don’t know me, I was once measured at 5’10.” I never intend have my height taken ever again.

This episode is only a quick coffee bite and I’m putting it out later than my self-imposed deadline of Wednesday morning because I’ve been hard at work on Season 4. I started recording the new series of interviews this week which made me look like this…

A shoulders-up selfie of a white man with a thick salt and pepper beard, green eyes, and grey ball cap makes a faux scared face. His chin is partially obscured by a microphone and he is wearing headphones. He's inside of a small audio studio with black curtains for wall.

I was a little rusty, but my first interviewees, Dani Riggins (Ultreya Coffee & Tea) and Keri Elliot (Elliot & Murrey Coffee) cut me a lot of slack. I’m getting anxious to start releasing new shows and be creative with coffee again. Stay tuned.

COFFEE IN THE WORLD

As someone who works in marketing, I’m always complaining about the algorithms being used by our social media overlords. What I’m not usually doing is worrying about how said algorithms might be disproportionately feeding or even creating a negative stereotypes of me as a person.

Cartoonist & Artist, Keith Knight (KChronicles.com) recently put out a call to action to help him counter the negative online imagery. You can see my photo on Instagram.

“Black people: Post & send a pic of yourself drinking out of your favorite mug. Non-black people: Post & send a pic of yourself with a black mug.”

See the full cartoon on the Washington Post or BlackMugShots.com.

ROAST! INDUSTRY PARTNERS

  • Steady State Roasting is growing and hiring a part-time Barista and a Marketing Manager. “If you feel this is for you please send your resume over to hello@steadystateroasting.com. If you have already sent your resume, please no need to send it again.”

    Two men on opposite sides of a long wooden table pour water out of goose-neck kettles into coffee cupping bowls (like small soup bowls)
    Follow @SteadyStateRoasting for updates on all their #CoffeeJobs

Listen to the show on these platforms!

APPLE PODCASTS • SPOTIFY • ANCHOR.FM • GOOGLE PODCASTS • AMAZON MUSIC • THE COAST NEWSTUNEIN RADIO • I HEART RADIO • POCKETCASTS • BREAKER • RADIO PUBLIC • OVERCAST • YOUTUBE • STITCHER

Connect with @roastwestcoast on Instagram, Twitter & Facebook

Thank you for reading. Roast! West Coast grows through word of mouth. Please consider sharing this post with someone who might appreciate it.

Buy us a cup of coffee!

0 Comments
Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
The Original Show! The Roast! West Coast podcast introduces you to the premier coffee roasters, coffee experts and coffee innovators on the West Coast. Author, entrepreneur, and host Ryan Woldt interviews guests to bring you their origin stories, thoughts on the community of coffee, and coffee education.