Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
Coffee Smarter: Cleaning Your Coffee Gear.
0:00
-45:30

Coffee Smarter: Cleaning Your Coffee Gear.

Ft. Chris O'Brien, Coffee Cycle Roasting

S5:E4: COFFEE SMARTER

Topic: Cleaning your coffee brewing and grinding equipment
Guest:
Chris O’Brien
Title: Co-Founder, Coffee Buyer/Broker
Instagram: @coffeecycleroasting
Website: www.coffeecycleroasting.com


I try to bring my own mug to the coffee shop. BYOB and prevent another single-use coffee cup from hitting the landfill. The problem is that I’m not great at remembering to bring them in to clean. So they sit in the car, and the little bit of coffee that was left in my mug dries and begins to stain.

My water kettle is glass. Inevitably the scales building upon the spout become difficult to remove, no matter how hard I scrub. I wash with soap and water, but the scales remain.

This week my mailbox was full of new coffee to try. New coffee means more beans traveling through the grinder as I try to dial in the brew. Twenty-two grams of beans go through the grinder at a time. Inevitably a few grains get left behind. I try to remember to purge the grinder chute, but often I’ll go through a few batches before I remember to tap on the housing knocking the grounds stuck inside loose.

In theory, it doesn’t seem like much maintenance to keep my coffee equipment clean, but every time I forget another mug in the cup holder of the car or heat up another kettle of tap water, it becomes that one chore that I can’t make myself do for another day. Luckily, I have Chris O’Brien to help me out.

This week Chris talks us through some of the basics of keeping your at-home coffee equipment clean. Enjoy the show.

FROM THE SHOW

  • These are the grinder cleaning tablets Chris talked about during the show: Grindz Coffee Grinder Tablets on Amazon. While I was on Amazon, I also found this coffee machine descaler cleaner which seemed relevant to include here.

  • The movie with Christian Slater was called Hard Rain, not Hard Water, and it also starred Morgan Freeman, Dennis Quaid, and Minnie Driver. I warn you now if you watch this trailer, you’ll be downloading this film asap.

NOT FROM THE SHOW

  • The old stereotype of coffee being used to mask the scent of drugs made the news this week when a 1/2 ton of cocaine was found in a Nespresso warehouse in Switzerland. The street value of which is estimated to be over 11 billion dollars. Read the article.

R!WC Industry Partners


LISTEN TO ROAST! WEST COAST ON THESE PLATFORMS

APPLE PODCASTS • SPOTIFY • ANCHOR.FM • GOOGLE PODCASTS • AMAZON MUSIC • THE COAST NEWSTUNEIN RADIO • I HEART RADIO • POCKETCASTS • BREAKER • RADIO PUBLIC • OVERCAST • STITCHER

Thank you for reading. Roast! West Coast grows through word of mouth and our optional paid subscribers. Please consider sharing this post with someone who might appreciate it. Follow @RoastWestCoast on Instagram.

Buy Us A Cup of Coffee

Share Roast! West Coast

0 Comments
Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
The Original Show! The Roast! West Coast podcast introduces you to the premier coffee roasters, coffee experts and coffee innovators on the West Coast. Author, entrepreneur, and host Ryan Woldt interviews guests to bring you their origin stories, thoughts on the community of coffee, and coffee education.