Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
Mic Drop
0:00
-50:20

Mic Drop

Coffee Smarter Week 10 with Chris O'Brien, Coffee Cycle
A white man with a ginger beard, glasses, ponytail and medical mask leans on a raw edge countertop at the coffee shop.
Chris rarely posts photos of himself. I had to room in on an @coffee_cycle post to get this one! Follow the shop for updates on their new venture.

BREAKING NEWS!

My guest on the last episode of the Roast! West Coast podcast Season 2 is my own personal coffee sensei, Chris O’Brien of Coffee Cycle. The breaking news is that he took some time out of the episode to say some nice things about me. That never happens. I’ve already recorded it onto a cassette tape so I can listen to it over and over again.

More breaking news: Coffee Cycle is going to begin roasting their own coffee! That is a big deal. Chris has exacting standards for the coffee he is willing to serve in the shop so I know that he wouldn’t get into this lightly. I’m excited to try some of the first beans that come out, and I’m sure they’ll be excellent.

COFFEE SMARTER WEEK 10: MIC DROP

This week I ask Chris for his thoughts on domestic coffee farming. I was inspired to ask because of my conversations with Frinj Coffee farms founder Jay Ruskey, and hearing the experience of Kyle Rosa, whose Bluetail Coffee Grove is in the Frinj network of farms. I know Chris is passionate about the economics of coffee, and our conversation goes on a winding path covering fair trade, domestic coffee farming and our relationship with our cups of coffee.

I don’t know that we solve a lot of problems or answer a lot of questions, but we certainly ask them! I’m going to ask you to think about one today too. Please think about your answer before listening to the show. Don’t answer just yet. Listen to this week’s episode first, and then revisit it.

Which is more reasonable to you: a $35 cup of coffee or a 75-cent one?

Whether your answer to the following changes or stays the same, we’d like to hear about it. Share in the Roast! West Coast Facebook group. Also…join the group!

Don’t forget! Season 3 is on the way.

FAIR TRADE

Speaking of Fair Trade, what is that? From wfto.com, home of the World Fair Trade Organization:

"Fair Trade is a trading partnership, based on dialogue, transparency and respect, that seeks greater equity in international trade. It contributes to sustainable development by offering better trading conditions to, and securing the rights of, marginalized producers and workers – especially in the South….

Fair Trade Organisations have a clear commitment to Fair Trade as the principal core of their mission. They, backed by consumers, are engaged actively in supporting producers, awareness raising and in campaigning for changes in the rules and practice of conventional international trade.

Globally recognised definition, as agreed by the main international Fair Trade networks (WFTO, Fairtrade International and European Fair Trade Association).

Fair Trade Organisations (also known as Fair Trade Enterprises) can be recognised by the WFTO Mark.

Fair Trade is more than just trading:

  • It is a vision of business and trade that put people and planet before profit

  • It fights poverty, climate change, gender inequality and injustice

  • Is a proof of concept that showcases the enterprise models of the new economy”

Clearly, this is an issue that impacts people all over the world. The goal of the various fair trade organizations is to create economic, social and environmental standards, and then have businesses agree to follow those standards. Then we, as consumers, can look for fair trade certifications on packaging to help us make purchasing decisions.

That said, just because a bag of coffee at your local roaster doesn’t say fair trade doesn’t mean that it wasn’t sourced ethically or sustainably. Fair Trade organizations are membership based, and there are all kinds reasons a business might join or not join. For example, Coffee Cycle has been working directly with a farm in Costa Rica to source beans bypassing the coffee trade market.

This is why—when it is possible—it helps to start a relationship with the businesses that we’re supporting. It is one of the reasons I love coffee. I can head to my local coffee roaster or cafe, and in most cases, ask questions. Where did this coffee come from? Why do you source the way you do? Have you been able to visit the farm?

It is a luxury that I can do that here in Southern California, and it is one of the reasons I keep trying to grow this Roast! West Coast podcast and newsletter. My goal to provide a platform for local cafes, roasters and coffee community members to tell their stories, share their motivations and make it easier for all of us to feel a connection with our morning cup of coffee. Not to mention celebrate coffee with all of you.

THANK YOU

I can’t thank you enough for following this newsletter, and listening to the podcast. I love coffee, and I love sharing these interviews, stories and opportunities to learn with all of you. For the first time since March of 2020, I’m looking forward to sharing a cup of coffee with you too. Thank you for your support, and for sharing this show.

Support the Show!

Now that it is the end of Season 2, and possibly the end of this show being only recorded over the internet from my closet. As Southern California is awakening from a Covid-19 inspired slumber, I am starting to go out into the world. I’m already reaching out to guests for season three (coming Fall 2021!), and making lists of Coffee Smarter questions. Got a question? Send it!

HIATUS

You might be wondering what R!WC will be doing during summer break. For starters, I’m going to see my family in Wisconsin. It has been more than a year, and in some cases almost two since I’ve been able to give them a hug. It’s long overdue.

Second, I’ll be working to grow this coffee network, and figure out how to do these interviews in-person! I’ve never done that. This show started after lockdown last year. I gotta learn some new skills.

Finally, I have a new book coming out soon! Future Eli & Future Jane is the follow up to my novella Eli & Jane. Read the first one so you’re ready for the second! It’s available on Amazon, but they already have most of our money so if you want an autographed copy buy it direct!

A bald, bearded, white man wearing a black and white checked flannel, seated on an orange lounge chair holding a copy of a paperback book up, titled Eli & Jane.
Read books. Books are cool!

Buy a copy of Eli & Jane

INDUSTRY LEGACY PARTNERS

You didn’t think I would forget about my Industry Legacy Partners, did you? Where do you think I’m going on my first visits out into the world? If you need coffee (or coffee whiskey) check out these great companies for delivery, pick-up or some on-site coffee enjoyment.

And speaking of stickers…Roast! West Coast stickers are in, and I’ll be dropping them off at the our Industry Legacy partners. I’ll post about it on the ‘gram…nope…the Instagram, when I do so you’ll know where you can get one. Be sure to follow @roastwestcoast for updates.

Zumbar Coffee & Tea • First Light Coffee Whiskey • Leap Coffee • Steady State Roasting • CAFÉ LaTERRE • Mostra Coffee • Cape Horn Coffee Importers • Marea Coffee • Coffee Cycle •


IN CLOSING

You’re amazing. Drink good coffee. Listen to the podcast!

Listen on Apple Podcasts!

Listen to the show on these platforms!

APPLE PODCASTS • SPOTIFY • ANCHOR.FM • GOOGLE PODCASTS • AMAZON MUSIC • THE COAST NEWS
TUNEIN RADIO • I HEART RADIO • POCKETCASTS • BREAKER • RADIO PUBLIC • OVERCAST • YOUTUBE • STITCHER

Follow @RoastWestCoast on Instagram & join the Roast! West Coast Facebook Coffee Community.

0 Comments
Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
The Original Show! The Roast! West Coast podcast introduces you to the premier coffee roasters, coffee experts and coffee innovators on the West Coast. Author, entrepreneur, and host Ryan Woldt interviews guests to bring you their origin stories, thoughts on the community of coffee, and coffee education.