Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
Keri Elliot, Elliot & Murray Coffee
0:00
-58:01

Keri Elliot, Elliot & Murray Coffee

Yes...that is a No Doubt poster on the wall.

S4:EP3

Guest: Keri Elliott, Elliot & Murrey Coffee Roasters
From: Hillsboro, Oregon (4653 College Ave, San Diego, CA 92115)
Instagram: @elliottmurreycoffee
Website: https://linktr.ee/elliottmurreycoffee


Based in Hillsboro, Oregon, Keri Elliott—Founder and the Head Roaster of Elliott & Murrey Coffee Roasters—is the first roaster I’ve interviewed outside of California for the R!WC podcast. That’s kind of a big deal, I think. I’m not exactly sure how or why I reached out to her, but things seem to work out for a reason.

Keri grew up surrounded by entrepreneurs, as did I. She grew up with some mixed messaging coming from religious influences in her life, as did I. She has a No Doubt Poster on the wall, as I did in the ‘90s. She fell in love with coffee, as did I. She became an entrepreneur, as did I. She started a freaking coffee podcast—Drop Temp, as did I!

ALL THE ELLIOTT & MURREY LINKS

Keri is both the Elliot and the Murrey being represented in her business’s name. After growing up seeing her grandfather and father run the family business, Murrey Pool Tables, she wanted to start something that would continue that legacy, as well as start her own.

Legacy is a funny thing. How we are remembered and how we carry on the memories of our fore-bearers seems to be both a weight and an inspiration for a lot of entrepreneurs. I am my own person, yet I carry the name of my father with me everywhere I go. I can’t escape it even if I want to.

By becoming an entrepreneur and deciding to take ownership of her and her family names, Keri is proudly taking on the challenge of representing her lineage in her own ‘90s girl power punk sort of way.

During this episode, Keri mentions that they have a 12kg Probat Roaster machine named Alice. Why do we name our machines? I think it is because those machines help us create both products and experiences that enhance our lives. It helps infuse a sense of soul into whatever it is we choose to put into the world.

I haven’t yet named the mic that I use to record the R!WC podcast. I think that is because, as a podcaster, I’m still finding my identity. Each season of the show has been tweaked a little bit closer, a little bit closer, a little bit closer to the interviewer and coffee professional I hope to be. I’d like to think I could just come up with a name for the mic, but as anyone who has tried to convince their friends to give them a cool nickname knows, names are earned.

Elliott & Murrey Coffee Roasters is currently crowdfunding for a new cafe space through ifundwomen.com, a platform for women entrepreneurs offering coaching, networking, and fundraising opportunities.

CHECK OUT THE CAMPAIGN!

Keri Elliot flashes the rock n'roll horns hand signal while holding up a newspaper promoting her coffeeshops bronze medal for best coffeehouse in Hillsboro, Oregon while standing in from of shelves filled with coffee bags.
Check out the award-winning @elliottmurreycoffee on Instagram! ©@elliottmurreycoffee

FROM THE SHOW:

  • The Mormon view on coffee from the churchofjesuschrist.org: “According to God's guidance in the Word of Wisdom, Mormons are advised to avoid coffee. Mormons…believe they are divinely counseled not to drink coffee. In 1833, Church prophet Joseph Smith received a revelation from God regarding health, known as the Word of Wisdom. This revelation advises which foods and drink are good for the body and which substances should be avoided. It lists "hot drinks" as one of the harmful substances…Church leaders have explained "hot drinks," means both coffee and tea (excluding herbal teas).

    In recent years the Church has clarified coffee drinks that go by different names, as the word coffee isn't always included. The update states, "Drinks with names that include café or caffé, mocha, latte, espresso, or anything ending in -ccino are coffee and are against the Word of Wisdom."

  • Sweet Maria’s website is a great resource for the home or up-&-coming roaster both for sourcing green coffee and for finding a lot of information. When I first started this show I spent an afternoon reading their Coffee Glossary just to get a handle on the language of coffee.

  • The Color of Money is a classic movie. An older Paul Newman teaches a young Tom Cruise how to be a pool hustler before they both teach each other a few life lessons. It’s a drama played out as a buddy comedy/love story.

  • The Whole Bowl is my favorite food cart in Portland (admittedly based on limited experience). You walk up and get a bowl filled to the rim with comfort food doused in this delicious sauce. I found and made this recipe for their Tali Sauce. It was so close to the real thing. If you aren’t in PDX, I give it a strong recommend. If you are in PDX, go to the source.

TODAY’S COFFEE VOCAB COURTESY OF SWEETMARIAS.COM

ROAST! INDUSTRY PARTNERS

  • CAFÈ LaTERRE is almost ready to open their second SoCal location in Encinitas, California. Follow their Instagram, @cafe.laterre, for updates.

  • Mostra Coffee is going all out for Valentines Day with an immersive Valentine’s Dining Experience at Mostra Coffee 4S Ranch on Valentine’s Day - Monday, February 14th from 6:00-9:00pm. Very limited tickets. Exclusive chef offerings and live music. All the details on MostraCoffee.com.

  • Leap Coffee is hosting “Night At the Roastery” on Saturday, February 26th. It is a date night twist on the tradition coffee cupping and roasting classes. Get all the details and enter to win tickets on the @leapcoffee Instagram page.

  • Be on the Roast! West Coast podcast! I’ll be at Camp Coffee Company on Sunday February, 19th from 9AM-1PM enjoying a great cup of coffee (or three) and interviewing guests on why they love coffee!

    I kind of have the crazy-eye in this one!

Listen to the show on these platforms!

APPLE PODCASTS • SPOTIFY • ANCHOR.FM • GOOGLE PODCASTS • AMAZON MUSIC • THE COAST NEWSTUNEIN RADIO • I HEART RADIO • POCKETCASTS • BREAKER • RADIO PUBLIC • OVERCAST • YOUTUBE • STITCHER

Connect with @roastwestcoast on Instagram, Twitter & Facebook

Thank you for reading. Roast! West Coast grows through word of mouth. Please consider sharing this post with someone who might appreciate it.

Share Roast! West Coast

0 Comments
Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
The Original Show! The Roast! West Coast podcast introduces you to the premier coffee roasters, coffee experts and coffee innovators on the West Coast. Author, entrepreneur, and host Ryan Woldt interviews guests to bring you their origin stories, thoughts on the community of coffee, and coffee education.