Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
Start the Countdown
0:00
-2:07

Start the Countdown

The Roast! West Coast coffee podcast returns in 7 days.
In the foreground, a traditional white coffee mug filled with coffee sits on a round, dark-brown, stained coffee table. In the background, stacks of coffee bags sitting next to an industrial, white, coffee roaster and roasting supplies are blurred out.
An Americano from Acento Coffee in Bay Park, San Diego. It was delicious.

A LETTER TO LISTENERS & READERS

That was a long summer. Not a bad one. Certainly not bad in the way last year was epically bad. I actually left the house. I saw some family. I saw some friends. I relearned how to button pants. I drank a lot of great coffee.

Follow R!WC on Instagram

I used to only make French press coffee’s at home. Then I switched–for a time–to a Chemex brewer. Then to a V60 pour over. Finally, to my current method which is kind of a pain. I brew my coffee in a French press and then pour it through a V60 filter into my mug. I started doing it to eliminate some of the oils in my coffee. I kept doing it because I just like it. In my head it gives my coffees a smoother taste. I’m drinking a coffee I brewed and filtered right now. It is the Rebel Rebel blend from Visitor Coffee Roasters out of Imperial Beach.

However you drink your coffee, I hope you’ll spend some of that time listening to Season 3 of the R!WC podcast. This season I interview 10 great new coffee professionals (see the list), and have in-depth chats about coffee with returning Coffee Smarter experts Siri Simran Khalsa (Lofty Coffee) and Chris O’Brien (Coffee Cycle Roasting), and bring in some special guest experts like Jay Ruskey (Frinj Coffee) to talk about big topics like climate change impacts on coffee.

I’ll also be bouncing around SoCal dropping off stickers, buying coffees for essential workers, and trying to get a little coffee smarter all season long. It’s going to be fun. New episodes will be dropping every Tuesday and Thursday until late-December.

That was a long summer. Welcome back.

SUPPORT ROAST! WEST COAST

If you enjoy the Roast! West Coasts coffee content please consider an upgrade to the paid subscriptions. It’s a great way to support the creation of this show. Think of it like a magazine subscription. A subscription at $36 annually is just $3/month, and less than 55 cents an episode…but…we made it to SEASON 3!

As a thank you to everyone for demanding (okay, letting me make) more episodes. Get 30% off an Annual Subscription ($24). That’s only $2/month to show your support for this podcast and newsletter. It will go a long way towards improving and growing the show.

Get 30% off for 1 year

As paid subscriber you’re supporting a small business, local writer and the creators of this coffee content. Every subscription is appreciated.

BE COOL. DRINK GREAT COFFEE.

I drink the Hummingbird blend.

Along with our paid subscribers, this show exists because I’ve gotten the support of a bunch of great coffee industry professionals to help keep the lights on. I can’t thank my Roast! Industry Legacy Partners enough. Welcome Camp Coffee Company & Frinj Coffee to the fold!

I’ll be featuring these coffee companies on the show all season long, because I really do support them in my every day life. I’ve had coffee (and whiskey) from four of these roasters just this week!

Zumbar Coffee & Tea • First Light Coffee Whiskey • Leap Coffee • Steady State Roasting • CAFÉ LaTERRE • Mostra Coffee • Cape Horn Coffee Importers • Marea Coffee • Coffee Cycle • Frinj CoffeeCamp Coffee Company


COFFEE VOCAB

QUOTES IN CLOSING

“I'd rather take coffee than compliments just now.”
Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

Listen to the show on these platforms!

APPLE PODCASTS • SPOTIFY • ANCHOR.FM • GOOGLE PODCASTS • AMAZON MUSIC • THE COAST NEWS
TUNEIN RADIO • I HEART RADIO • POCKETCASTS • BREAKER • RADIO PUBLIC • OVERCAST • YOUTUBE • STITCHER

Shout to the Division Champion Milwaukee Brewers. Go ‘Crew!

0 Comments
Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
The Original Show! The Roast! West Coast podcast introduces you to the premier coffee roasters, coffee experts and coffee innovators on the West Coast. Author, entrepreneur, and host Ryan Woldt interviews guests to bring you their origin stories, thoughts on the community of coffee, and coffee education.