Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
Coffee People: Tanya Nanetti, Coffee Insurrection
0:00
-31:52

Coffee People: Tanya Nanetti, Coffee Insurrection

Season 7: Episode 3

S7:E3

Guest: Tanya Nanetti, Coffee Insurrection
From: Buna Specialty Coffee, Lisbon, Portugal
Instagram: @coffeeinsurrection, @tonya_coffee_travel
Website:
www.coffeeinsurrection.com


I grew up in a restaurant, by most accounts, a pretty good one. As a kid, my friends were the cooks, servers, bartenders, and even regular customers. If I had to guess, those customers got a kick out of me crawling around under booths looking for loose change. Later, when I was washing dishes or bussing tables, I’m sure the team struggled to hold back a sigh when the boss’s kid made a snarky comment.

I remember feeling like I was part of something every time I pushed past the pirate painted on the back door. And I was.

I’ve spent the rest of my life trying to build communities that have imbued the same warmth that my memories seem flooded with. Meeting Tanya made me feel seen.

With Coffee Insurrection—the website she co-founded with her boyfriend Endri—she’s connecting coffee lovers and cultivating a community of new coffee friends online and in real life. They are also documenting their coffee experiences. It’s a global effort. Seriously, the list of roasters on the site is extensive.

As the Head Barista at Buna in Lisbon, she’s doing the same at the local level. Creating a space where you’re a regular by the second visit is an ambitious goal. By her accounting, they’ve managed to do it. As a customer, you can feel that kind of care when you walk through the door of a great cafe. I hope to feel it walking into Buna someday when I’m lucky to travel across the Atlantic again.

Speaking of…

How wild is it that coffee can connect strangers around the world? That’s what I was thinking during my chat with Tanya. I was sitting in my closet podcasting booth in Southern California. 5,600+ miles away, Tanya was smiling into her computer camera as I welcomed her to the R!WC Coffee People podcast.* By listening to this show in your corner of the world, we are now connected to you. What a world.

*This coffee podcast has been growing. You may have heard there is now a separate Coffee Smarter podcast devoted to making better cups of coffee at home. This season we’re interviewing some amazing coffee professionals from the West Coast but also from, well, from beyond the coastal region. It felt right to start working into a new name. Throughout Season 7, Roast! West Coast will become Coffee People, presented by Roast! West Coast. I thought you should know.

LISBON RECOMMENDS BY TANYA

LESSONS I LEARNED (OR RELEARNED) DURING THIS PODCAST.

  • Reach out. What do you have to lose?

  • Keep traveling. Keep exploring. Keep connecting.

  • Tradition can impede growth. Don’t get caught up in how it has always been.

CLICK ON THESE R!WC INDUSTRY PARTNER LINKS

Drink their coffees and whiskeys. Visit their cafes. Support local coffee shops. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Congratulations to Erin Nenow for cutting the ribbon at Ascend Coffee Roasters in San Marcos, CA.

    Two women stand in front of a group cutting a red ribbon at an opening.

Zumbar Coffee & Tea • First Light Coffee Whiskey • Steady State Roasting • CAFÉ LaTERRE • Mostra Coffee • Coffee Cycle •  Camp Coffee CompanyIgnite Coffee Company • Ascend Coffee Roasters • Marea Coffee • Cape Horn Coffee Roasters


Thank you for reading. R!WC is a listener & reader-supported publication. Help us grow by subscribing to this newsletter!

LISTEN TO ROAST! WEST COAST ON THESE PLATFORMS
APPLE PODCASTS • SPOTIFY • ANCHOR.FM • GOOGLE PODCASTS • AMAZON MUSIC • THE COAST NEWSTUNEIN RADIO • I HEART RADIO • POCKETCASTS • BREAKER • RADIO PUBLIC • OVERCAST • YOUTUBE • STITCHER • CASTROPANDORALISTEN NOTESDEEZERPODVINE • CASTBOX
0 Comments
Roast! West Coast
R!WC Archive
The Original Show! The Roast! West Coast podcast introduces you to the premier coffee roasters, coffee experts and coffee innovators on the West Coast. Author, entrepreneur, and host Ryan Woldt interviews guests to bring you their origin stories, thoughts on the community of coffee, and coffee education.